2019 Architecture + Community Awards Winners

Honoring what makes architecture and community enchanting here in New Mexico, the Foundation developed the Annual NMAF Awards Program in 2017. Representatives from each of the three categories received their awards on May 18 during NMAF’s annual membership celebration held at El Zocalo in Bernalillo.

With nominations made by community members from across New Mexico, a panel of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) reviewed and voted on the submissions. Below are highlights of our winners.

In the coming months, each honoree will be featured on the Foundation’s website with more details from the nomination process that revealed why they received this year’s awards.

  • For important historic buildings or sites that have had a lasting effect upon bringing together our community 

El Vado Motel

  • For newer buildings or sites that have made our community stronger

ABQ BioPark Botanic Garden Conservatory

  • For an individual or group who has made a significant effort to stimulate public understanding and appreciation of architecture in our community

Ed Boles, Historic Preservation Architect and Planner

Ed Boles (left) leading one of his popular tours.






Tell us what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: